Process for granting awards

There has been a clear wish from EFPA’s Executive Council and Board of scientific affairs group for the awarding process to be revised. This revised process has been put in place following a review of both the awards portfolio and process during 2020 and 2021. The revised process aims to place robustness and transparency at the heart of all EFPA does in offering and evaluating nominations for awards, in the interests of awarding innovation and excellence while promoting equality, diversity and inclusion in psychological research, practice, and allied work.

Making nominations

Nomination should be made through EFPA Member Associations, Affiliate or Associate Members.  The call for nominations will be available here in September 2022 together with the online Application Form.


Timetable for 2023 award round

Call for nominations issued to EFPA Member Associations, Affiliate and Associate Members, and online nomination form made live September 2022
Deadline for sending in nominations by EFPA Member Associations, Affiliate and Associate Members 9 January 2023 9am CET
Nominees and EFPA Member Associations, Affiliate and Associate Members informed of outcome 17 March 2023
Presentation of awards 4-6 July 2023


Current Awards

Aristotle Prize

The Aristotle Prize was given to EFPA by the President of the 4th European Congress of Psychology in 1995 Athens, Greece, to be awarded to a psychologist from Europe who has made a distinguished contribution to psychology.

Comenius Early Career Pscyhologist Award

The Comenius Early Career Psychologist Award was given to EFPA by the Union of Psychologists’ Associations of the Czech Republic (UPA CR), to be awarded to a young psychologist from Europe who has made an original contribution to psychology as a science and profession.

Robert Roe Memorial Award

Robert Roe was President of EFPA from 2009 to 2015. He has throughout his career been instrumental and influential in bringing Psychologists across Europe together.

Past Awards

Wilhelm Wundt - William James Award

The American Psychological Foundation’s (APF) Wilhelm Wundt – William James Award is given at the biennial European Congress of Psychology.

Lev Vygotsky Award

Lev Semyonovich Vygotsky (Russian: Лев Семёнович Выго́тский, IPA: [vɨˈɡotskʲɪj]; November 17 [O.S. November 5] 1896 – June 11, 1934) was a Soviet psychologist.