1. Introduction and history: 

The Aristotle Prize was given to EFPA by the Association of Greek Psychologists – AGP and the Hellenic Psychological Society during the 4th European Congress of Psychology in 1995 Athens, Greece, to be awarded to a psychologist from Europe who has made a distinguished contribution to psychology. An agreement was signed between EFPA (Former President Ingrid Lunt), the Association of Greek Psychologists (Former President Marina Manthouli) and the Hellenic Psychological Society  (Former President James Georgas).

  • The first Aristotle Prize was awarded to Professor Pieter Drenth from Amsterdam in 1995,
  • followed by Professor Paul Baltes from Berlin in 1997, 
  • Professor David Magnusson from Stockholm in 1999, 
  • Professor Alan Baddeley in 2001 in London,
  •  Professor Lea Pulkkinen in Vienna 2003, 
  • Professor Rocio Fernandez-Ballesteros in 2005 in Granada,
  • to Professor William Yule in 2007 in Prague, 
  • Professor Claus Bundesen in 2009 in Oslo, 
  • Professor H. Marinus Van Ijzendoorn in Istanbul in 2011, 
  • to Professor Niels Birbaumer of the University of Tübingen and Istituto di Ricovero e Cura a Carattere Scientifico - Venice, in Stockholm in 2013, 
  • Professor José Maria Peiro from the University of Valencia (Spain) in Milan, in 2015.
  • In 2017 the award went to CON AMORE – Center on Autobiographical Memory Research in at ECP 2017 in Amsterdam.
  • The last award went to Prof. Naomi Ellemers from the University of Utrecht (NL) and presented at the ECP 2019 in Moscow (Russia).

2. Criteria:   

New criteria will follow. 

3. Procedures:

EFPA has set up a 5-person Aristotle Prize Committee which includes its President, Secretary General, a member of the Executive Council (EC) and two other members of the EFPA Board of Scientific Affairs, not members of the EFPA EC and appointed for 4 years, who are recognized to be leading psychologists in Europe.

There should be some continuity of membership of this committee, and it should function in communication with the Scientific Committee of the next European Congress of Psychology, which might be represented on the Committee. 

Nominations are examined by the members of the selection committee who will consult with other individuals and bodies

4. Application procedure: 

Nominations should include (please send each document as separate pdf file)

  1. a letter of nomination, sent in by EFPA’s (associate) member associations or sectoral organisations, signed by two nominators
  2. a statement as to how the nominee meets the criteria
  3. a list of publications and
  4. a current curriculum vitae and contact details (email address) 
  5. a picture (jpg format)


Instructions to submit nominations for the award 2022 will be published in the fall of 2021.