Fri, Dec 14, 2018

New EFPA President Prof. Dr. R. A. Roe wants to strengthen the visibility of psychology at the European level

20 Aug 2009

EFPA General Assembly of July 12, 2009 elects Prof. Dr. Robert A. ROE as new president for the next 4 years.

News - New EFPA President Prof. Dr. R. A. Roe wants to strengthen the visibility of psychology at the European level

Prof.dr. Robert A. Roe, member of the Dutch Psychologists’ Association NIP, has been elected as new President of EFPA. The election took place on July 12, 2009 during the general Assembly of EFPA in Oslo.

Robert Roe is emeritus professor of organisation theory and organisational behaviour at Maastricht University and consultant in the area of personnel and organisation. He has been professor at Delft University of Technology, Tilburg University, and the University of Nijmegen. He was founding-president of the European Association of Work & Organizational Psychology and director Work & Organization Research Center in Tilburg.

Robert Roe has a broad international experience, especially in Europe. He has organized dozens of scientific conferences, symposia and workshops and took part in several international research projects. He has (co)authored more than 400 scientific and professional publications, including several books on psychology and aspect of working life.  

Prof. Roe sees it has his responsibility to strengthen the visibility of psychology at the European level, to give more strategic direction to the activities of EFPA, and to make the federation more agile.

On the short term he strives toward the implementation of EuroPsy, a register of certified European psychologists. The register will include the names of psychologists with at least six years of education, including a year of supervised practice. It will also identify specialized certificates in Psychotherapy and Work & Organizational Psychology.

Another aim is to improve EFPA’s lobbying work with the European Commission, the Council of Europe and organizations such as WHO and ILO. Roe is aware that the further development of the psychologists’ profession in Europe will take time, but expects that it will be achieved by “presence, patience and persistence”.


The new Executive Council of EFPA : see

Robert Roe : President (Netherlands): 2009-2013

An-Magritt Aanonsen : Treasurer and Vice President (Norway): 2003-2011

Elizabeth Campbell : Secretary General and Vice President (United Kingdom): 2009-2013

Bernard Caruana : member (Malta): 2009-2013

Hrvoje Gligora : member (Croatia): 2007-2011

Roger Lecuyer : member (France): 2007-2011

Veronika Polisenska : member (Czech Republic): 2007-2011



Back to news items